About Us

The Greenwich Society aims to make Greenwich a better place for all who live and work here, to promote the town's heritage, to improve its amenities and to make it attractive to visitors.

The Greewich Society is -

  • a Registered Charity 262023
  • a member of the London Forum of Amenity and Civic Societies
  • a member of Civic Voice

In order to view the slideshow, please install Flash

The President of the Society is Ursula Bowyer

The business of the Greenwich Society is overseen by the Executive Committee -

Office/Role Name Sub-committees etc.
 Chair Jonathan Chandler Chairman's Committee, Membership, Events, GLUG
 Vice Chair Lesley Hodsdon Chairman's Committee, Traffic, GLUG
 Honorary Secretary Richard Baglin Chairman's Committee, Membership, Planning
 Honorary Treasurer David Matheson Chairman's Committee, Membership, Traffic
Membership Secretary Franklin Steves Chairman's Committee, Membership, Newsletter, Traffic
Blackheath Joint Working Party Philip Craig  
  Jackie Hicks Chairman's Committee, Events (Chair)
  Tim Barnes  Events
  John Evans  Chairman's Committee, Membership, Newsletter Editor
  Derek Fordham  
  Sheila Keeble  CIL
  Helen McIntosh  Events
  Richard Butt  Planning
  Ray Smith  Planning & Regeneration, East Greenwich, Membership, CIL
  Lorraine Turton  
  Pieter van der Merwe  

 The committee is assisted by a group of non-executive members: -

Name Role(s)
Sue Maddison Events
Cherry Bentley  Events
Stella Booth Events
Ursula Bowyer President
Ann Broadbent Events
Matthew Carmona Planning & Regeneration
John Franklin Planning & Regeneration, Conservation Group
Clare Marchant Newsletter editorial team
Margaret Morris Traffic, Events
Carol Smith  Events
Geoff Smith  Planning & Regeneration
Chris Todhunter Planning & Regeneration
Helma Zebregs Events